USA South Welcomes Berea, Brevard & Pfeiffer

USA South Welcomes Berea, Brevard & Pfeiffer

BEREA, KY- Berea College has been officially welcomed into the USA South Athletic conference along with Brevard College and Pfeiffer University. The conference welcomed the Mountaineers on July 1 before they began competing in the league in the fall.

Berea comes to USA South as a full NCAA Division III member and will be eligible to compete in all USA South championships and student athletes will be eligible to receive any Conference-awarded academic and/or sportsmanship honors.

Berea began the USA South membership process in May 2016 while still a provisional member of NCAA Division III. At the time Athletic Director Mark Cartmill said, “I am extremely excited for Berea College athletics to be joining the USA South. This is a major step in our transition into the NCAA Division III, which began two years ago. It provides an opportunity for our student athletes to compete against athletes from outstanding institutions.”

Current USA South Member Institutions include: Agnes Scott College; Averett University; Covenant College; Ferrum College; Greensboro College; Huntingdon College; LaGrange College; Mary Baldwin College; Maryville College; Meredith College; Methodist University; N.C. Wesleyan College; Piedmont College; William Peace University. Brevard College and Pfeiffer University will be joining the conference in the 2018-19 academic year after finishing the NCAA Division II to Division III reclassifying process.

Berea will play its first USA South Conference game in any sport on September 2nd when the women’s soccer team takes on Covenant College.